Origins: Khodesh – The Werewolf (part 3)

The Wolfblood surged through Khodesh’s veins, as it bolstered and altered her human form. She felt the burning fury that raced through under her skin, from the tips of her hairs to the toes at her feet. Khodesh’s eyes still looked to the sky as the blood from the freshly killed heart soaked her chin and neck. Her blue eyes slowly disintegrated, and reappeared a new amber color.

Dropping the heart to the floor as it made a gross flop, her hands gripped into fists as her new inner being form took hold. Taking deep breaths, as her new sense of smell took hold. Her vision was sharper than before. Her hearing distance increased, being able to hear the fauna and anything that breathed from far distances.

The hair on her arms and the back of the neck stood up. All of the guards started filing out of the town’s entrance, with the mounted guard on his warhorse in front of the now shoulder to shoulder formation.

Khodesh began her approach casually, using the nightfall to her advantage as she wiped the blood off of her face to the best of her ability. She wasn’t sure if they were able to watch the spectacle that took place, as he performed her Ritual of Blood.

“If they saw me, they would know I have become a Werewolf. I cannot harm them, for they are innocent.” Khodesh said to herself as she uncertainty settled at the pit of her stomach.

She stopped at a considerable distance, as the guards stared her down.

“You are an excellent warrior, I do not know how you managed to kill those fur balls by yourself, but you are certainly quite talented. You defended our town, and you are a stranger to us. It means something, to me.” the mounted guard said as his horse neighed, petting him to calm him.

Khodesh looked behind her, smelling their still freshly blooded corpses, and turns back to the guards.

“I only did what needed to be done. I do not know if more will show.” Khodesh replied.

“Thank you for protecting our people. My people.” The mounted guard nodded.

“I must be off, I cannot stay here. They will be looking for me, as I have killed their own.” Khodesh said as she adjusted her sword on her back, turning to walk away.

The mounted guard had said something, but the wind carried his words off and away from her.

Khodesh got back on trail, and headed far away from the human inhabited town, to stay on the move. With the Wolfblood surging through, it kept her fatigue and hunger at bay far longer, her amber eyes scanned her area with great detail as she stepped off.

“Surely they will come for me, and they will send more than three Hunters.” Khodesh said, as she looked towards where her Wolfkin lived.

***

“Adept Khodesh dispatched all three hunters.” The Huntress said, as she bowed in respect before the Master of Arms outside the cave.

“She is Wolfblood now, Huntress. She committed to the Ritual of Blood, so Khodesh is one of us.” Master of Arms replied.

The Huntress stood up straight, wearing her traditional furs and tunic.

“With respect to the situation, and with regret of the loss of brand new Hunters, she fought extremely well and she was not of Wolfblood yet.” she said in a lower volume voice to the Master of Arms.

He sighed. “She must be under a full moon for her first transition, and that will be in about a days time. We can still attempt a capture, but with the Wolfblood in her, she will not be easy.” he replied to the Huntress as he looked up at the moon in Waning Gibbous phase.

“What are your plans?” The Huntress fired off another question.

The Master of Arms shrugged lightly, “I need tonight to think about what to do. I must speak with the Ancestors. I want you to send two Hunters to recover the remains of our dead, sooner the better.”

The Huntress nodded, and entered the cave to give a mission to the more senior Hunters to retrieve their fallen kin.

The Master of Arms closed his eyes for a moment, and used the still silent air to concentrate. He entered a deep trance.

“Khodesh, I know you can hear me. I know you are angry. You have every right to be. We have failed you, for that I am sorry. I wish for your return home, you will not be harmed. You have my Bloodword.”

***

Khodesh stopped in mid stride and heard the Master of Arms voice enter her mind. It echoed as it played like music.

She turned towards her mountain home.

Her teeth ached, and a deep fire reignited inside her chest.

Closing her eyes, entering her deep trance to send a reply.

“You are no longer my family, you all betrayed and dishonored me. I am Wolfblood now. My destiny has been fulfilled. If any of you come for me, I will kill them. I deny your peaceful return.”

***

The Master of Arms received Khodesh’ reply, as it deeply saddened him as a small tear formed in his left eye as his eyes were still closed during his trance.

“Very well Wolfblood Khodesh, with a heavy heart I reply. We will hunt you down. You are our prey. Death will not be swift.”

***

“I will do you one better. I will come for you.” Khodesh replied, as she cut off her trance with Master of Arms.

Khodesh looked to the sky, knowing she needed to wait for the full moon phase to appear for the full effect of her transformation. For now, she knew she needed to rest, and had to find a safe area until the moon was full. She needed all of the help she could get, and getting the full effect of her new Wolfblood would be the best option she had.

She decided to return back to Salei’toala, it was the nearest place she could go closest to her former home. Entering the town, as the guards greeted her and hailed her as the town hero against a small attack singlehandedly.

The mounted guard approached her on his horse, hearing the cheers of the guards on patrol.

“You still have room and board here, Hero of Salei’toala.” he said as he looked down at her.

She nodded, “My name is Khodesh. I will stay the night here. I must clean my clothes and get proper rest. I am afraid I cannot stay long.”

The mounted guard smiled and nodded in return.

“Very well Khodesh. You are our guest of honor.” he said as she walked back towards the Tipsy Dragon.

Slipping in unnoticed, she grasped a couple of plates stacking it with food, she walked up to the room she was given for free for the night, as she devoured the meats, getting a new feel for her enhanced taste buds.

Stripping off her furs and garments, for she felt a sudden heat rise from within her.

***

The Huntress watched her two more experienced Hunters walk down the mountainous path, next to Master of Arms.

“They have their orders for retrieval, nothing more.” The Huntress said as the Master of Arms stood quietly.

“Good, I do not want them harmed. I will need every able bodied Wolfblood and Adept. She refused my Bloodword of peace, and wishes to fight.”

The Huntress listened to his words as she watched her Hunters continue down the path.

“A fool she has become. A waste. We will do what needs to be done. Let her come.” The Huntress replied as she walked back into the cave.

Author: Spaneito Greywolf

Casual Twitch streamer, and an average bookworm! I also fancy my own style of writing! Please enjoy, comment, and read some more! http://www.twitch.tv/spaneito

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started